My Merry Wake

29 Nov

This was inspired by Alasdair Roberts’ song The Merry Wake. It is once again not in Iambic Pentameter (help?!)

My Merry Wake

As they danced by the banks of the river,

And they laughed, and a merry tune they sung,

And they promised to love me forever,

And through the air their joyous voices rung,

And when to the depth of the Clyde I dropped,

And they gaily ‘celebrated my life’,

Nobody noticed, and nobody stopped,

None, save my own sweet bride, my darling wife.

And the black veil hid her tears from their sight,

And in the depth of her heart, her pain stirred,

And she lost her love to sorrow that night.

Is this how I am to be remembered?

Oh, my bonnie darling what will it take,

To make you smile, smile at my Merry Wake?

9 Responses to “My Merry Wake”

  1. Betty November 29, 2011 at 10:50 pm #

    Lyrical words – I enjoyed it! (If you want it in iambic pentameter, it only needs a little tweeking – you’re off to a great start!) 🙂

    • Jennifer Hay November 29, 2011 at 10:54 pm #

      🙂 Thank you!! Ha, ‘a little tweeking’ is a scary thing! I’m terrible at hearing stresses, so I’ve just written it and pretty much ignored all attempts at rhythm!

  2. Jessie Jeanine November 29, 2011 at 11:18 pm #

    I think this is beautiful…

    • Jennifer Hay November 30, 2011 at 12:07 am #

      Thank you! I’m glad you liked it 🙂

  3. elizabethre November 30, 2011 at 3:43 am #

    I wouldn’t know an iambic pentameter if it jumped up and bit me. But I do know that I like your poem. It is stirring and carries one along at a fine clip. Nicely done. 🙂

    • Jennifer Hay December 4, 2011 at 2:13 am #

      Thank you! I’m just going to pretend there’s no such thing as rhythm and just write them anyway! 😀

  4. anilraheja November 30, 2011 at 7:06 am #

    this is beautiful, jennifer…

Leave a Reply

