As you pass by.

5 Jan

As you pass by.

 

I used to sit and wait for you

To pass before the glass doors and

Turn your head slightly, glancing in

Noticing at the last second.

A small smile would adorn your face

Your eyes would catch mine and hold them

Captivated. You’d turn and take

A step forward, leaving, but then

You seemed to think again and once

More, you caught my eyes. You raised your

Hand and gave a small wave, waiting

For me to return it. Of course

I’d quickly copy your action,

Raise my hand, and wave, wishing for

You to decide not to leave and

Come in here, to open the door,

Walk across to my table, sit,

Smile and chatter away, as you

Are so often wont to do. And

I knew you wouldn’t. I knew

You would turn your head away with

A small frown as you hurried off

To your room, forgetting me. Not

Sparing me a second thought.

Would it be different, if you knew,

That I had sat there for hours,

Patiently waiting for you to

Pass me by? That moment, our

fleeting glance, your smile, bringing me

More joy than anything else could.

Would it make you give me one more

Second? I like to think it would.

5 Responses to “As you pass by.”

  1. hollyannegetspoetic January 6, 2012 at 12:03 am #

    Especially liked the ending. It’s an affirmation almost, but not in a schmaltzy way.

  2. granbee January 6, 2012 at 12:46 am #

    Next time, next time. There is alway more opportunities than we think for speaking with a smile!

    • Jen C Hay January 6, 2012 at 1:02 am #

      I wish it was so, sadly, I’ve not seen the person that poem was about for a very long time. Guess there’s a moral in there somewhere about taking opportunities when they’re there.

  3. willowdot21 January 6, 2012 at 8:41 am #

    OH! unrequited love it is so painful. This poem was written so beautifully that I can feel the pain!

  4. S. Jean January 7, 2012 at 5:51 am #

    Same Jenchay the yearning for love you have a catagory in these two poems go.

Leave a Reply

