Of staring at you, trying to speak, and impress.

5 Jan

I don’t think this makes sense? It was slightly based on me being tongue tied trying to talk to someone, a teacher, who I had a (tiny) crush on a few years ago. If it doesn’t can someone tell me. Normally I have someone to check it, but nobody’s available for a while.

Of staring at you, trying to speak, and impress.

It started with a flutter in my chest,

A clenching in my stomach, a dryness,

Turning my tongue into a useless lump,

Dry in my mouth. I try nevertheless,

To speak to you, to impress you with my

Poor attempts at humour, all my bad jokes

Seeming to find a voice at once. I try to

Fight past the nervousness that you evoke

In me, to make some kind of mark. To say

Something, anything, that will make you see

Me, make you look at me, and remember Me.

Remember I exist. Remember me.

But I see you look at me, not caring,

Of that lonely girl sitting, staring.

9 Responses to “Of staring at you, trying to speak, and impress.”

  1. willowdot21 January 5, 2012 at 11:27 pm #

    that is lovely you have expressed the feeling perfectly just one small change , the line “Vapid in my mouth.” I might try ” Dry in my mouth.” beautiful poem.

    • Jen C Hay January 5, 2012 at 11:40 pm #

      AHH! thank you!! I spent about an hour just staring at that line! I just couldn’t see past it. Thank you!!

  2. dribblingpensioner January 5, 2012 at 11:36 pm #

    Its does make sense, young love 🙂

  3. hollyannegetspoetic January 6, 2012 at 12:05 am #

    Makes perfect sense – captures a certain moment that many people have felt.

  4. granbee January 6, 2012 at 12:45 am #

    Jenchay, you would have been that girl who that kind of teacher asked me to help with our new project of the week, only after she kept me after all of you were dismissed out of the room. See, the teacher did not want to embarrass you by talking about this in front of the whole class.

    • Jen C Hay January 6, 2012 at 1:02 am #

      Um, sorry, I’m either suffering from exhaustion, or just losing my mind, but I have no idea what you just said… :/ Sorry!

    • Jen C Hay January 6, 2012 at 1:05 am #

      Oh no, wait, I think I get you! Kind of? 😛

  5. Soma Mukherjee January 6, 2012 at 4:27 am #

    To speak to you, to impress you with my
    Poor attempts at humour, all my bad jokes…Oh god i can relate to this…..lovely nervous days those were …beautiful poem

Leave a Reply

