**I AM NOT A POEM** ;) Am I being too subtle?

8 Jan

It’s been a while since I’ve actually ‘blogged’ anything on here other than poetry and while I’d like you all to think that this is because I’ve had far more interesting things to be occupying my time with, it blatantly isn’t. So all I can do is apologise, for what must be the millionth time for this now, and promise I’ll write again sooner! (Brilliant use of the English Language right there.)

But you see, I’ve found myself in a bit of a conundrum with this blog lately. I’m kind of writing two blogs in one, which is never a good idea. I love both parts of it, writing ( ie. whinging) about my day (or week (Okay, month)) and all the things that happen, and writing poems and (hopefully soon, although I also say this all the time, but I actually mean it this time. Really. I promise. **crosses fingers behind back**) short stories.  However, I know that the people who read this are split into two main groups, one group read my poetry and don’t want to put up with my every day life drivel, while another group, mostly friends and family, actually want (for some unfathomable reason) to read about what I’ve been up to, and don’t want to read my poor attempts at being poetic.

Now, I’ve been trying to work out how to fix this. Should I make a sign or a picture or something to differentiate between different posts? No, too difficult, and confusing for myself. Should I make my blog two columned to show the different parts separately? Again, no. Should I have a separate blog for one and the other? Absolutely not, way too difficult. And then I came to the conclusion that a couple lines in you would be able to tell for yourself anyway so I’m overcomplicating. Still, I feel kind of guilty that you would waste your time looking at poetry when you don’t want to read it, or vice versa, so if someone wants to leave a comment with ideas, that’d be grand!

Now, back to business. You can all probably see that my writer’s block, at least regarding poetry, has been well and truly booted. I have been writing non-stop for days now without once having to suppress the urge to stab my dictionary to death with my fountain pen. Yay! My short story writing is coming along too, if a little slowly. I have slightly less vague ideas, several plans, and about two pages of a couple of them written. So, again, Yay!

The last time I posted was before Christmas. Oh, last year. Oops. Now I feel guilty… Anyway, I can’t remember what I wrote about and don’t have internet access at the moment, so I’m winging it and hoping I hadn’t said I’d write something and forgotten it.

Well, my holidays have been good, mostly quiet with a couple of hectic, drunken nights and a few rows thrown in. Typical Christmas really. Santa was good to me, but not as good as I was to myself before hand, going mad on Amazon and coming home to find my mum staring in annoyance at a knee high pile of books, wondering how the ‘couple’ I’d warned her might be delivered home turned into a couple dozen. Again, oops.

New Years was great too. I went out this year, for the first time, on New Years Eve, and I’m proud to say I stuck to my pre-New Years resolution and didn’t drink as much as I’d expected. After Black Friday, I’d promised myself never to drink again. Ever. Okay, so I only kind of kept my resolution, but I did try!

I think the Friday before Christmas is probably the drunkest I’ve ever been. I’m not planning on turning this blog into a diary of my drunken escapades, so have no fear. I will, however, make a pledge to never drink Vodka like water again, never drunkenly confess my deepest secrets to my ‘new best friend’ (who has actually turned into a good friend), never consume so much alcohol my legs become completely useless, never lose my I.D and find it in my shoe the next day, never eat donnor meat, ever again, and never, ever, ever, fall asleep next to a basin of my own vomit and then roll over. I may be scarred for life.

I don’t want you to get the wrong impression, I’ve NEVER been that drunk before, and once in a lifetime is more than enough. I think I’ve scared myself out of doing it again, to be honest, because I’ve had my first experience with black outs and memory loss. This is something I never want to experience again. Waking up in the morning, wondering what the hell you’d done on the walk/drive home is not a good sign. Not to mention, I could have gotten myself into a lot of trouble.

So, other than that, I’ve had a great holiday. I’m so looking forward to 2012. I’m determined to see it as a fresh start. I’m going to start getting out more, and make more of an effort to be social, I’m going to keep ahead of my course work, I’m going to write at least a dozen short stories and I’m going to bloody well be on time for my blog posts!

A belated Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to everyone!

Jen

P.S. I have a couple more poems to go up tonight! Keep an eye out for them. If you want…

4 Responses to “**I AM NOT A POEM** ;) Am I being too subtle?”

  1. Dad January 8, 2012 at 11:25 pm #

    Some of us actually want to see both sides of you. But only if you go back to spelling things properly. You know it annoys the crap out of me.
    PS
    You didn’t mention the fact that you didn’t quite make it to the basin on time on Black Friday (I’m just glad you kept it until you were out of the car)

    • Jen C Hay January 8, 2012 at 11:27 pm #

      Daaaaad!! STOP EMBARRASSING ME ON MY BLOG!!! 😉 **Read in as whiny a voice as possible**
      Ok, I barely didn’t make it. And my spelling’s fine.

  2. Heather January 9, 2012 at 8:24 am #

    Hehe gotta love parents 😛

    Regarding the poems vs non-poems entry there are two options; 1) setting up specific categories and simply expect people to use their common sense and click the one they want. 2) There is a way to add a ‘read more’ tag which hides the bulk of the entry under a type of spoiler tag, so to read more people just click the snazzy ‘read more’ link 😀 My wordpress has it but as I have it installed on a domain I’m not sure if you do too. Mine says the quick way is pressing ALT + SHIFT + T so try that 🙂

  3. granbee January 9, 2012 at 11:05 pm #

    JenC, what about writing from the heart about your internal self in blank verse form? Lot of our mutual blogging friends do this. I think you are fully capable. What do family members know, anyway. Let them read facebook, or email, or tweets, okay? However, I AM very happy you are writing short stories again, without destroying too many dictionaries. This seems to be very important to you; and we should, and do, honor that goal. Wishing you much success and no more Black Fridays and many “epiphanies” this month.

Leave a Reply

