Stay with me through the night. *edited.

8 Jan

Stay with me through the night.

I’ve never felt more comfortable than

I do, wrapped soundly in your arms. Held tight

Against the suffocating darkness. Can

You stay here and hold me through the long night?

Will you stay here and fight the ghosts and ghouls

And memories that haunt me? Stay here with me

My darling, comforting me as sleep pulls

Me to its depth and takes me through a sea

Of dreams. Will you wait through my dreams, my dear?

Will you comfort me, love me, rescue me?

Will you be there to fight away the fear?

Will you stay with me, through the long, dark night?

Say you will, my sweet, hold me as I sleep

Or I shall be alone, and I shall weep.


**Guys, I’m really sorry to keep bombarding you all with poems! They just keeping falling out of my brain!

5 Responses to “Stay with me through the night. *edited.”

  1. Sarah Hartfield January 8, 2012 at 6:47 pm #

    This is blatantly about me…

    • Jen C Hay January 8, 2012 at 6:57 pm #

      Aye, sure thing Sarah. I’m glad your holiday in New Castle hasn’t damaged your over inflated ego. 🙂

  2. willowdot21 January 8, 2012 at 8:24 pm #

    Bombard away it is lovely to read them XX

  3. celestealluvial January 9, 2012 at 9:04 pm #

    Really enjoyed this poem! It was honest and vulnerable, two out of a few things I like in a good poem. I wish you well in your blogging adventure, and may you find happiness and success. Blessings, Celeste.
    Thanks so much for the follow! 🙂

  4. granbee January 9, 2012 at 11:08 pm #

    PLEASE– you should never apologize for posting/writing poems! We love them. They tell truths in ways prose never can. They lilt us along into comprehension, okay? I tease my husband that I would sing all of this type of invitation to him, if it were not for his snoring, over which he can never hear me! Tee, hee!

Leave a Reply

