In the guise of you

8 Feb

In the guise of you  

 

I’m scared of what I can do

When, in the guise of you,

I speak your words, drag them through

My soul, a mirror image

Of you, of your cold hard rage

That never existed save

In my own fearful, bitter

Imagination, which stirs

Like the near dying embers

Of burning branches cut from

The tree of life, of love, some

Hateful thoughts of you, of your

Smile – a grimace, a sour

Dead, empty glance. Please, no more.

 

 

 

*normally I wouldn’t post this, I’m not happy with it (am I ever happy with my poems? /sigh/) but I’m just so happy to have something down on paper!!!!!! 😀

 

8 Responses to “In the guise of you”

  1. awakeningpsyche February 8, 2012 at 7:07 pm #

    aaah, I can imagine a picture in my head with those words….abstract as it is the soul…keep the flow of words without thinking what you write….that’s the best way..:)…

  2. willowdot21 February 8, 2012 at 7:41 pm #

    I like it Jen, is it about someone having a fight with themselves with the nasty side trying to overcome the gentler kinder side! I think it is strong and forthright and really good!

  3. celestealluvial February 8, 2012 at 7:57 pm #

    To me, there is nothing not to like about it….its real and honest, carries depth and emotion, and it’s relatable yet symbolic…this is great, I liked it. But I know what you mean….whenever I finish writing something or post something new, there is always some dissatisfaction in there somewhere. I always feel like what I want to get across, mere words are not quite enough to press it home. I think its a bit of a perfectionism trait, but that’s what makes a writer good at what we do. 🙂
    warm regards
    Celeste

  4. sfbell09 February 9, 2012 at 12:11 pm #

    Terrific work. It is good to get the words out on paper (or hard drive or whatever 🙂

  5. kate58 February 9, 2012 at 5:59 pm #

    I liked it, It had a stream-of-consciousness flow to it that I found appealing.

  6. granbee February 9, 2012 at 7:30 pm #

    Jenchay, I am very glad you posted this because it tells so much truth about what happends to people when they speak out of anger and hardness of heart. They start turning into that one they so despised for the very same qualities. We need to have these truths told, so you need not apologize, by any means, dear sister. Bless you.

  7. adollyciousirony February 12, 2012 at 3:23 am #

    Hello dear I nominated you for the Liebster Blog Award, check it out here: http://allaboutlemon.com/2012/02/12/i-am-beloved-liebster-blog-award/
    Congratulations, enjoy and have fun 🙂

  8. Tanya December 15, 2012 at 4:17 pm #

    Keep the poems coming. We all criticize our own work. A lot of my poems that I thought were bad, people liked. You paint a clear picture. Many who write poetry do not pull that off so well. Good job.

Leave a Reply

