My Nothing

7 Mar

 

I can think of absolutely nothing to write

The page is empty

White.

Not a damn thing comes to mind

Not a word

Not a rhyme

Not a single utterance of which

Any useful lines could find

Somewhere, something to start from.

Weary… Annoyed… Tired…

Still no thoughts come

Not a word

Not a sound

Impatient click of fingers on desk

Taunting tick of the clock

Forever teasing

Forever laughing at

What?

My Nothing.

My page after page of Nothing.

20 Responses to “My Nothing”

  1. Frederick E. Whitehead March 7, 2012 at 1:40 am #

    Ha! Yea, me too

  2. rebelcoyote March 7, 2012 at 1:41 am #

    Anyone who writes can surely relate to this, myself included.

    • Jen C Hay March 14, 2012 at 12:23 am #

      It is THE most frustrating thing just sitting there with no inspiration at all.

  3. Soma Mukherjee March 7, 2012 at 3:47 am #

    oh ya some days….

  4. dribblingpensioner March 7, 2012 at 3:35 pm #

    Been there done that 🙂

  5. sfbell09 March 7, 2012 at 6:21 pm #

    Everyone hits this point, you hit back. Very cool!

    • Jen C Hay March 14, 2012 at 12:21 am #

      🙂 Thank you! I’ve been reading a lot of poetry about writers’ block, strangely inspiring!

  6. granbee March 7, 2012 at 7:26 pm #

    Well, you certainly wrote quite a few lines of ……nothing? You did exactly the right thing: writing about why you had nothing to write about! Kudos to you!

    • Jen C Hay March 14, 2012 at 12:21 am #

      🙂 Who knew a lack of inspiration could be your inspiration?!

  7. willowdot21 March 7, 2012 at 8:29 pm #

    we all fall into the bright and empty place………… we always manage to escape! Take heart.

    • Jen C Hay March 14, 2012 at 12:20 am #

      🙂 Thank you! Here’s hoping I escape soon! And with what little sanity I have remaining intact!

  8. celestealluvial March 8, 2012 at 7:05 am #

    I know the feeling, Jen….here is a link to something I wrote when I had writers block for too long….and mysteriously, it helped break me out of it…..hope you find that spark soon….I have confidence you will…..cheers…
    http://celestealluvial.wordpress.com/2012/02/14/muse-where-have-you-gone-a-lesson/
    (((Hugs)))
    Celeste

    • Jen C Hay March 14, 2012 at 12:19 am #

      This is brilliant! Definitely the best poem I’ve read about writer’s block! Hopefully it’ll inspire me! Thanks for posting the link!

  9. kate58 March 10, 2012 at 12:00 pm #

    I’ve been in nothing mode for about three weeks now. Not that I can’t think of anything to write, just that I can’t be bothered to write….. *shrugs* Maybe it’s spring fever…. 😉

    • Jen C Hay March 14, 2012 at 12:16 am #

      Maybe it is! I’m exactly the same! Loads of ideas spinning around none of them interesting me enough to make there way onto the paper!

  10. Paul March 12, 2012 at 6:36 pm #

    Hi Jen…. when nothing gets a response…. its must be saying a lot!….
    Paul
    ps thanks for the visit today.

    • Jen C Hay March 14, 2012 at 12:15 am #

      Thanks Paul! I really enjoyed reading your blog today! And thanks for visiting me too!

  11. sandrabranum March 20, 2012 at 5:07 pm #

    Oh if only the rest of us could write “nothing” like you… Thanks for liking my work.

Leave a Reply

