Fresh starts all round!

8 Sep

I guess I should start this post with the traditional apology and excuses for not having written for two whole months, but I’m sure you’re getting bored with that, and have come to expect no better from me by now.

I am right now sitting on a train heading up to Glasgow, finally moving into my new flat. Well, I technically moved in last week but, due to the lack of internet access and my inability to survive more than 24 hours with out access to some sort of social network, I had to wait at home with my parents for another week until I could get a dongle delivered. (Why would anyone in there right mind call that thing a dongle? It doesn’t sound cool and high tech like you’d expect from such a great gadget, it just sounds like a euphemism for a five year olds’ penis, not something I want to be discussing with Joe, the overly friendly scouser from t-mobile.)

At least all of my stuff is already up there, I just have a few bits and bobs to unpack and I’ll be settled in nicely. I’m staying at Kelvinbridge, for those of you who know Glasgow. For those of you who don’t, it’s a nice area, really accessible and has lots of good shops or cafes. I have completely lucked out. Also, I have a washing machine!!!! Finally, no more having to use the ones at the union! And it’s really close to the uni, just a ten minute walk, which is brilliant! And no massive hills this time!! As you can probably tell, I’m pretty damn chuffed with my living arrangements this year!

I’ve enrolled for all my classes this year too. I’m doing English Lit (obviously), Theology, the first semester being about mysticism, the second about Islam, gender, ethics and pluralism, both of which I’m really looking forward to, mostly because I have absolutely no idea what either of them are! And I’m also taking Comparative literature this year, which should be great as well. It was a pretty close call between comp lit and classics but when I saw we would be studying Fun Home by Alison Bechdel, I was already hooked.

My reading lists for the first semester is absolutely brilliant! Full of loads of authors I love and even the ones I’ve never heard of are turning out to be great! I’m really excited about doing Swift’s Gulliver’s Travels, a novel I’ve been obsessed with since sixth year, as well as Paradise Lost! And in Comp lit we’re doing The Lay of the Last Minstrel, and The Tain and Spiegelman’s Maus!! I’ll stop now, or I’ll just end up listing my entire reading list, it’s that great.

Hmm, what else can I tell you about? Well, my summer’s been pretty boring if I’m honest. Spent a lot of it working, which was actually quite fun. I met some really great people at Sport’s Direct and I’m already looking forward to going back during my holidays! Yes, I’m sad I know.

I didn’t really do much else. Oh, actually I did! I went to go see an outdoor performance of Hamlet, which was brilliant! It’s one of my favourite Shakespeare plays anyway, but seeing it in such great surroundings, out in the (surprisingly) sunny weather, eating strawberries and drinking hot chocolate made it all the better! Not to mention the fact I got to embarrass my little sister, who was there on a school trip with her English class. That’s always a nice bonus.

Other than that, my summer’s been pretty dull, which is why I haven’t written on here. I’ve not had much time and nothing really to say when I’ve been on. Now I’m back at uni though, there’ll be no getting rid of me!

I’ve been doing a little bit of creative writing, a few short stories, lots of awful poems, most of which I’m not going to put on here. I might stick a couple up, if I can’t think of anything that’s actually decent to write. I’m totally devoid of ideas when it comes to short stories at the moment. I have a few vague sci-fi plans, most of which I don’t have the patience to thrash out in much detail, so they’ll probably come to nothing.

Anyway, I’m going to finish this post here, my laptop’s about to run out of battery. I’ll write again soon!

5 Responses to “Fresh starts all round!”

  1. willowdot21 September 8, 2012 at 9:55 pm #

    Great to see you back. Really interesting post sounds like you have completely lucked out diggs and course wise. I look forward to seeing your new posts. It is good to hear someone so happy and positive as you are, long may it last. Xxxxx

  2. Frederick E. Whitehead September 9, 2012 at 12:29 am #

    If you are on instagram, it would be cool to see pics of Glasgow.

  3. kate58 September 9, 2012 at 8:26 am #

    I read Maus when I was at uni. Amazing work.

  4. elizabeth September 9, 2012 at 4:51 pm #

    Jen, I’m so jealous you are in Glasgow! And Kelvinbridge no less, I love the Byres road area. I spent my childhood traipsing through Glasgow Uni, a place I dearly love, and the awesome art gallery. I bet the weather is perfect for walking around that beautiful city right now. I so miss my home-town. Enjoy!

    BTW On the posting thing we get emails whenever you post so no sweat. All the best for a great school year. 🙂

  5. granbee September 11, 2012 at 8:41 pm #

    LOVE having you back, girl! And I am visualizing you in Glasgow but not envying the cold winter you will have there! Enjoy all that art and take lots of walks for us all, okay?

Leave a Reply

