**poem with explicit themes and depressing as dead kittens on a barbecue**

15 Dec

To the man who broke me

To the man who broke me

That night alone on the bridge

When you stole my innocence away

To the man who held me

Down, pinned to the cold, wet ground

And stole a part of me, the heart of me away

To the man who heard me

Beg for mercy he wouldn’t give

And lie numb to the pain of my soul being leeched away

I hope one day you feel

The clenching in your stomach

The cold shivers, the sheer terror

The flashbacks that keep you up at night

I hope one day you’ll look

Out of your window and dread

Having to face the world

I hope one day I’ll meet you

And see in your eyes all of the pain

That you’ve put me through

Multiplied until all there is left

Of your already ruined humanity

Is horror

I hope one day you’ll feel regret

And beg for forgiveness

And I hope you see me

My crippled soul

And know you’ll never have it

You’ll never have my forgiveness

Like a dying man thirsting for redemption

Redemption you won’t receive

I hope you rot and burn

In your own personal hell

And feel all the pain you’ve caused

And I hope you suffer.

21 Responses to “**poem with explicit themes and depressing as dead kittens on a barbecue**”

  1. elizabeth December 15, 2012 at 4:28 am #

    Jen, this is powerful and strong. I’m hoping against hope this hasn’t just happened. I’m hoping there has been at least some healing time. But know I’ve had hands around my throat (I was a teenager and he wasn’t a stranger) and I’ve felt the terror, but somehow I managed to get away. I can’t imagine the pain and terror you went through, it’s horrendous just reading the poem. My hope is writing and sharing your poem has started the healing process. And I’ll be praying for your healing too. ((hugs))

  2. sirrah December 15, 2012 at 4:31 am #

    ~ hugs ~

  3. willowdot21 December 15, 2012 at 9:14 am #

    Dear Jen I am hoping that you have written this from imagination but sadly it has the ring of truth and Knowledge about it. Jen if this happened to you, you need to get it out into the open don’t let it fester inside you. Talk to someone even us /me if it helps. Get rid of the anger and revenge it will eat you up and then he will of won again… Don’t let him. I have been in a similar situation like Elizabeth some one known to me again like Elizabeth I escaped. Jen you are so brave to write this out. God bless you Jen my thoughts are with you. Xx

  4. Sally H December 15, 2012 at 12:58 pm #

    This is so heart breaking and beautiful, thank you for sharing.

  5. Hby December 15, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

    Wow, this is so moving and beautifully written.

  6. John Miller December 15, 2012 at 1:01 pm #

    I love this poem, it’s so real and honest. Thank you for posting this.

  7. Sarah Hartfield December 15, 2012 at 1:02 pm #

    ’bout time you started writing again. Love this, and love you. xxxx

  8. · scar · December 15, 2012 at 1:48 pm #

    i love this, even though i wish you didn’t have to write it. it’s incredibly powerful. really evocative. you write beautifully.

  9. meholysmile December 15, 2012 at 2:08 pm #

    Have faith… and pain is purity… you are pure

  10. littverse December 15, 2012 at 2:42 pm #

    by God….This is powerful!!!!! hurtful and strong!!!!! Many many face this horror everyday, yet i pray in vain that no one ever has to go through this!!!!

  11. Matt S December 15, 2012 at 3:02 pm #

    I thought this was one of the most heartwrenching poems I’ve ever read. It’s so beautiful and connects you with the emotions the speaker is tryin to hide. It’s amazing.

  12. Diane December 15, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

    A stark and brutal piece but oh so very powerful and it carries a message that needs to be heard. Very well done indeed. – Diane

  13. Liz Farrah December 15, 2012 at 7:00 pm #

    This is almost too hard to read, the raw emotions and pain in every word just jumps out of the page.
    You’re a very talented poet.

  14. Jack December 15, 2012 at 7:01 pm #

    I love this, it’s so harsh and pained… perfect.

  15. lee smith December 15, 2012 at 7:03 pm #

    So beautiful and sad.

  16. M P S December 15, 2012 at 7:04 pm #

    I can feel the pain oozing out of the paper. Spectactlar poetry Jen!

  17. eros21 December 15, 2012 at 8:48 pm #

    Absoloutly touched by this poem. Very vivid emotions that stir deep to the soul.

  18. Tel December 16, 2012 at 1:46 am #

    Both moved and paralyzed by this poem. It reminds me of a chapbook I read recently, “To the One Who Raped Me.”

  19. dani December 16, 2012 at 12:41 pm #

    the raw emotions in this are overpowering.

  20. Harry December 18, 2012 at 12:14 am #

    A very intense and moving poem.

  21. authormercedes April 25, 2014 at 2:56 pm #

    Beautiful poem.. Keep strong

Leave a Reply

